Tom Violence – Definite Limits – LP


AHT 117 – Limited Edition of 103 copies with individually designed and hand drawn sleeves.

Purchase digital version on Bandcamp here.


Track Listing

A1 Tom Violence – Limits
A2 Tom Violence – Someone
A3 Tom Violence – Everything
A4 Tom Violence – (Is This What) You (Call Change)
B1 Wio – Limits
B2 Hercules Fence – Someone
B3 Ed Nolbed – Everything
B4 Tom Violence – Limits (Jan Snare Re-edit)


The duo Redbrick Shithouse (Darren Fox and Nick Brelsford) formed in Sheffield in 1986 and quickly wrote and recorded their signature tune, Everything, in a bedroom directly onto a C60 tape. A few further songs were written and immediately captured in the same way, all as single track first takes. A live set was fillled out with a couple of cover versions including a favourite solo Robert Forster track.

The band renamed themselves Tom Violence when they started working with multi-instrumentalist Alan Saint in 1989. This band, deliberately named after, but sounding nothing like, Sonic Youth, made some attempt to record properly in a session in Romford, working on what were felt to be the band’s 4 or 5 best tracks.

These recordings were abandoned until 2020 when, during the covid lockdown, one of the songs was accepted by the Italian label, Almost Halloween Time Records, for inclusion on its Portraits From The Quarantine compilation.

The positive feedback from that prompted further tracks to be sent to the Welsh label Recordiau Prin, who would go on to release the rough Redbrick Shithouse demos and all the The The inspired Tom Violence recordings on the Everything We Found compilation CD, which sold out out almost instantly, but is still available on download.

Now, 4 of the Tom Violence tracks have been remastered and are being released on vinyl by Almost Halloween Time Records, along with 3 cover versions and a re-edit featuring the wonderful talents of Wio, Ed Nolbed, Good Grief’s Hercules Fence and Jan Burnett from Spare Snare.

Until now the recordings of Tom Violence were part of a 1980s Sheffield that had been long lost, and so appropriately the artwork will feature images of a Sheffield that no longer exists.

Grazie mille to Luigi for making sure the music lives on.

All songs Brelsford, Fox, Saint except A4 (Robert Forster)
Mastered by J. Boulay

Additional information

Weight .250 kg