Orange Cake Mix – Of Broken Dreams And Better Days – CS


AHT 053 – Limited Edition of 50 copies with individually designed and hand drawn sleeves.

Purchase digital version on Bandcamp here.


Track Listing

1. of broken dreams and better days 01:33
2. honey i love you 02:18
3. i think of the ocean 01:36
4. sleep through morning 02:25
5. on the way to sleepyville 01:39
6. the finer things 02:32
7. when the stardust falls upon the ocean waves 01:51
8. why don’t we go away for awhile 01:59
9. just a dream 02:41
10. flying around in circles 02:24
11. you can’t hide [demo] 02:22
12. endings 02:00


Orange Cake Mix is the nom de plume of Connecticut resident Jim Rao. A prolific singer/songwriter, Rao began scribbling lyrics and humming his own melodies as a child; in the early ’90s. I discovered his music years ago when I was exploring the Blackbean and Placenta Tape Club catalogue and in the course of the years I’ve been able to collect some of his many album and cassettes. I’m really excited to have the opportunity to work with Jim. “Of Broken Dreams and Better Days” is out today, a collection of 12 songs originally recorded in the 90s that have been closed in a drawer too long. I’ll hand draw 50 different sleeves for this album.

released December 16, 2016

a collection of songs from an unreleased 1999 album.
******one year later I just found the missing 1999 tape of more unreleased songs, so I added 4 songs 9-12****

Additional information

Weight .083 kg